Encouraging

Honestly, I don’t know what I want to do after college.

Honestly, I don’t even know what I want to major in. That’s a pretty big deal considering I don’t know what I want to do. I know everyone tells me that I have time, but honestly, I don’t feel like I have much time.

I don’t really think I’m all that good at many things. When you ask me what I’m good at, and you want, like, a skill or talent or character trait that is going to be valuable in the world, I would probably say I’m really good at encouraging people. I really enjoy trying to do things for other people, be there for them when they need me, supporting other people, no matter what.

For example, I love writing encouraging notes to people. I love texting people little ‘have a good day’ messages, and just generally trying to lift people up and let them know they they are doing the best that they can and smiling at everyone I pass on my way to class. It makes me happy knowing that these are the small things I can do to help brighten other peoples days.

I don’t know where this adoration of encouragement comes from, or where it’s going to take me in life. I would love to spend a lot of my life encouraging people, leaving little notes and smiling at people and giving gifts.

But I don’t know any jobs where people get to encourage other people and still, ya know, survive off of that as a job.

~Lydia

Leave a Reply

