Scotland: I Made A Reindeer Friend

My trip to Scotland was jam-packed with adventures, so I had to break it up into multiple posts! Check out parts ONETWO and FOUR!


Yep, you read that title right. I MET REINDEER.

Being from the hot and muggy south of the United States, I never, ever imagined that me, a girl who has only never seen more than four inches of snow at once in her life, would get to meet real live reindeer.

Thankfully, my feet were no longer killing me to the point where I couldn’t walk, so I was able to join my group as we went to the Cairngorm Reindeer Centre at the Cairngorm National Park in Scotland.

We spent another few hours on the bus (see post number two for photos), stopped for lunch, and arrived at Cairngorm Mountain for the hike to the reindeer. I had a lot of faith in myself and my blisters, and I was so excited to meet reindeer, I think that helped in my walking ability a lot more than I think.

Once we made it to the reindeer enclosure, I caught a glimpse of the creatures that I had thought were fictional until I was eleven. REINDEER.

It was an experience I can’t even begin to describe. Being surrounded by the Scottish Highlands, getting to hand-feed reindeer, pet them, and take selfies with them…reality seemed suspended for the hour we spent with those reindeer.

Please enjoy the multitude of pictures I took with reindeer, of reindeer, of my friends with reindeer, and of the scenery. (I know you can’t see my face in a lot of them but it’s okay…I was in the midst of discovering a life dream that I never knew I had.)

dsc_0410

The first glimpse we got of the REINDEER. (It’s been over a week and honestly I’m still as excited about it as I was the day it happened.)

dsc_0481

Colin’s attempt to befriend the reindeer. Needless to say, it didn’t exactly work.

 

dsc_0404

JUST LOOK AT THIS VIEW (and ignore that it’s mildly blurry, my camera was acting up that day).

dsc_0448

My new best friend and I hanging out in the Scottish national park.

dsc_0423

Honestly I think feeding a reindeer was something that was never on my bucket list but it should’ve been. CHECK!

I didn’t intend for this to become such a photo-heavy post, like the last one, but y’all. REINDEER.

You know what they say, a picture is worth a thousand words? I have about a million words to use to describe my experience hanging out with reindeer, so those pictures are going to have to do the trick.

Stay tuned for my final post from Scotland, which will include my hunt for Nessie at Loch Ness!


lydia.

3 thoughts on “Scotland: I Made A Reindeer Friend

  1. Pingback: Scotland: Landscapes | Thinking in Fragments

  2. Pingback: Scotland: Limping Through Edinburgh | Thinking in Fragments

  3. Pingback: Scotland: My Search for Nessie | Thinking in Fragments

Leave a Reply

