A Belated Brighton Blog Post

Soooo a few weeks ago, I went on a trip with my program to Canterbury, Dover, and Brighton! It was so much fun, I can’t believe it has taken me so long to write about it!!

While the trip was open to everyone in the program, it was required by my British Youth Culture class that I go. And I’m so glad I did. Of course, going along with my great trend I’ve had, I was sick on this trip. Having to get on a bus that Saturday morning was not where I wanted to be, especially since I had been coughing up my lungs since the Thursday before.

Needless to say, I didn’t get to experience the awesome nightlife that Brighton is famous for, but I had been ready to get back in bed and just sleep my sickness away since I had woken up that morning.

The second day in Brighton really was the best/most exciting. We started the day with a tour of the town. My class had a different tour from everyone else because we were focusing on different points related to our class. It was an awesome perspective on a historic city. We went through the famous Lanes shopping district, and ended up at the Brighton Pavilion. Pictures weren’t allowed in there, but it was gorgeous. It’s supposed to be a Taj Mahal-inspired building, intended as a residence for the royal family near the coast (during the 18th and 19th centuries).

For lunch, I had the freshest and best fish & chips I’ve had since I got to England. Brighton is well known for its seafood…because it’s a beach town. Then I went and adventured down to Brighton Pier. I’ve never really been to a true pier before, and this was so cool. It was a little weird thinking that these carnival rides were on what was essentially a dock, but I just leaned into it. It was really cool. I just walked around and took a lot of pictures during my afternoon free time, so let’s go to (what I assume is) the only reason people are reading this post: photos!

img_0763dsc_0783dsc_0787dsc_0805dsc_0807dsc_0791dsc_0793dsc_0799img_0781

I’ve gotten really behind at writing blog posts lately. I have a lot of posts with titles and pictures in them, but no words yet. But I also have a bunch of papers due in the next week, so I’m working to find a good balance. Hopefully I’ll get caught up this week, but if not, next week for sure! Thanks for sticking with me!


lydia. 

Leave a comment